giovedì 13 maggio 2010


The Mexican Spitfires were a Sydney Australia-based indie rock - indie pop band formed in suburban Strathfield in the Strathfield municipality in the mid 1980s. The band formed in 1986 and the original lineup consisted of Tim O'Reilly on bass and vocals, Michael Quinlan on rhythm guitar and vocals, Stephen McCowage on lead guitar, and Prince Conlan on drums; however, O'Reilly, Quinlan and McCowage had previously played together in the psychedelic 1960s-styled indie-pop band Prince Vlad & The Gargoyle Impalers.
In July 1986, The Mexican Spitfires played their first gig to a packed audience at the Lismore Hotel, located on Pitt Street in Sydney. They were discovered byRed Eye Records that same night and were subsequently signed to a record deal by that label. The band's debut six-track 12-inch EP Lupe Velez was released in 1988.  The first EP was an immediate success on the independent charts, moving straight into the top 5 in Sydney and scoring the band significant airplay on 2JJ , particularly for the songs "Sydney Town", "You Can't Run" and "Town Hall Steps". Lupe Velez received favourable reviews in Englgish Music magazine NME and in the Australian music press.
Personally I've loved this EP especially "You Can't Run" which is a memorable Pop song in a typical Aussie style. Good Good Good and really hard to find.


01 - Sydney Town
02 - You Can't Run
03 - Town Hall Steps
04 - Ivy Street
05 - Until
06 - Rockwood


P.s.: please rename track 03 called "Sydney Town" to "Town Hall Steps". Sorry For The inconvenience.

1 commento:

  1. Thanks a lot, I have been searching for this EP a long time !
    Michel (from France)